imagesLG2H5I43

Yesterday I had the pleasure of attending the first local No Excuse Mom Meet-up. It was initiated by a local mom who after the birth of her second child decided that she wanted to get fit and strong. She has documented her journey here for those of you who are interested. The class was set up so that moms could bring their little ones out while also getting a workout. It was truly wonderful to see so many moms, of all fitness levels, come out and make their health a priority while also modeling an active lifestyle for their little ones.

As moms there are so many competing priorities and MUCH less time so most of us put taking care of ourselves on the backburner. I have struggled and continue to struggle to find time to take care of myself and to figure out how I will continue my training with my more limited schedule. Whenever I doubt myself I try to remind myself why I do it “Fit so I can be Mom“. It reminds me that taking care of myself and doing what I love is not selfish. That my physical, mental and spiritual health are key ingredients in ensuring that I’m the best mom and wife that I can be. I’ve learned that a little creativity, flexibility and planning go a long way and that it doesn’t always have to be complicated. What this looks like will be different for everyone – there is not one ‘right’ way to take care of yourself. It won’t always be easy but it will be worth it!

While I will continue my more intensive individual training I plan to attend the No Excuses meet-ups over the next couple of months. Not only is it exciting to be a part of something that is motivating others to do something positive for themselves, it’s also a great opportunity for Henry to step out of his comfort zone and be around a large group of new people. It’s a growth opportunity for everyone 🙂

Thanks I and S for taking this on! I’m looking forward to future meet-ups 🙂

