Hope everyone is having a great weekend! Little Mr. H has been up bright and early all weekend. I’m lucky if he sleeps until 5:30am these days. . . .Much too early in my opinion but on the up side we get lots done.

How was everyone’s week? Ours was good busy but good. Thought I was coming down with a cold but after one day of much needed mommy rest and copious amounts of vitamins, coldfx and tea I think I managed to avoid it. Fingers crossed!! I have no time to be sick – the next two weeks are booked solid!

Friday night I had a wine night with some fabulous ladies and for the first time I got a ‘real’ babysitter. It recently dawned on me how housebound I’ve become on weekend evenings when Chris is away. I’ve just become so accustomed to assuming that I’m out of commission on the weekend evenings that I kind of forgot that I could get a babysitter. I’ve left H a couple of times with friends when Chris and I have gone to a work Christmas party or something of the like but this is the first time I’ve use a teenage babysitter and the first time I’ve got a babysitter so I could do something while Chris was gone. It was a big leap for me even though as per usual I made sure he was all tucked in before I left. It was nice to have an opportunity to visit with the girls and for me to get over the hurdle of hiring a babysitter. It’s not something I think I’ll do often but it’s kind of freeing to know that I can do it.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading recently about eating Paleo and I’ve become interested in trying it out. I already know that my body and my mood is better when I have a high volume of healthy fats in my diet and am curious to see how it feels when I cut out carbs, sugar and dairy. In preparation for my 30 day Paleo challenge I’ve been searching out recipes. The recipe below was a hit for lunches last week. It was super quick and easy to make which, these days, is the defining quality of most meals in this house.

SONY DSC

Grilled Chicken Antipasto Salad (from Make Ahead Paelo by Tammy Credicott)

Salad Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups pitted kalamata olives
2 cups of artichoke hearts (be sure to squeeze out excess water)
1 cup julienne-cut sun-dried tomatoes
8 ounces salami sliced into wedges
1 1/2 cups diced grilled chicken
3 tbsp. chopped fresh basil
3 tbsp. chopped fresh parsley

Dressing Ingredients:
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup white wine
2 tbsp. minced shallot
1 clove garlic
1 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
1 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning
1 tsp granulated garlic
1 tsp honey
1/ tsp salt
Fresh ground pepper to taste.

Combine all of the salad ingredients in a bowl. Combine all of the dressing ingredients in a jar. Combine the salad and dressing and refrigerate until needed.

Have you every tried eating Paleo? How did you feel?

When does your body feel it’s best?

