Some of you may remember that a few months ago I finally reached out and enlisted the services of a trainer to help me meet some of my fitness targets. She developed a 4 day intensive lifting schedule for me and to say I LOVED IT would be an understatement. I had already been lifting weights regularly but working with she gave me the push I needed to not only significantly increase my weights but also to give more structure and intensity to my lifting – especially my home workouts. I love how strong lifting makes me feel – not only physically but in all areas of my life. I’m not going to lie, I’m also loving the results. πŸ˜‰

f57719f8fb2311e2982122000a1f8c32_5
It’s still a work in progress and I want to see bigger gains but it’s definitely a step in the right direction.

The one thing about that I struggled with was decreasing my running mileage. At first I thought I would be ok with it once I started seeing gains. And I was at first but as time has gone on I’m not quite ready to cut down on my mileage or stop training for races at this point. It’s not that I feel like I need to do cardio to lose weight but I do love running and am actually feeling really sad that I only did one race this summer. For the next little while I’m going to do both and see how it goes.

The trainer also provided me with an accompanying meal plan. I’m all about eating as most of you know . . . but I have to say worrying about making sure that I ate every 3 hours and knowing the macro break down of every meal made me sad. I would even go so far as to say that it actually made me not want to eat. While I think there are merits of plans like this, I think that I need to work on adjusting it slightly to ensure that I don’t get bored or overly caught up in timing or macros. Now that I’m back at work I’m planning on trying it again with a few tweaks. I’ll keep you posted πŸ˜‰

7slide11_600x450

tumblr_lx4a9f7izs1qi6z2po1_500

