I honestly had the best intentions. I had hoped to blog at least once a week when I returned to work. A month and a half later here we are. . . my first post since becoming a working mom.
So far work has been good and Henry is loving day home which made the transition much easier I had anticipated. I’m still finding it difficult to be away from him so much but we’re slowly finding our groove. I won’t lie that in some ways working in my office relatively uninterrupted feels kind of like a break but then there is the part of me that is always thinking about him and wishing I could be with him. Some nights after I’ve put him to bed I’m missing him so much I just want to go in and pick him up. I restrain myself of course but it’s hard to go from spending every moment with this little person to only having them for a few hours a day.

What is also hard is trying to fit everything I have to do at home into such a small amount of time, especially the weeks that Chris is away. I often find myself rushing around after Henry goes to bed trying to clean, cook and workout. Sometimes that means I’m finishing a lifting session at 10:30pm. It sounds crazy but I’ve got to fit it in when I can. I’ve come to the conclusion that I just can’t cook after work anymore. I either have to do it once Henry has gone to bed or do a mass cook on the weekend and freeze meals for throughout the week. I’ve mostly been opting for mass weekend cooking and with some slow cooker meals thrown in during the week. It’s still a work in progress and I definitely don’t have it down to a science. Henry is also still adjusting to all of the stimulation and excitement of day home which leaves him exhausted and sometimes a little cranky at the end of the day. Last night was the best night we’ve had in two months and I felt so happy to have my happy little boy back. It has been challenging to only have a few house with Henry and for him to be cranky at the end of the day. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this wasn’t just a fluke and that he is actually getting accustomed to our new routine!!

Since we’re talking about the little man. . . we had a birthday party for Henry mid-August. I had initially wanted to keep our celebration small but Chris was SO excited to throw Henry a party that I felt that I couldn’t rain on his excitement. In the end I was so glad that we had a party to celebrate the day Henry changed our lives forever! ❤
Chris went into super daddy mode and did most of the party planning while I was at work. He made a banner, decorated, made goodie bags and even made little star sandwiches for the kiddos.

SONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

I made the owl cupcakes 🙂 They’re actually low sugar gluten and egg free black bean brownies. We’ve got some friends with sensitivities and I liked the idea of giving the kids a little bit of a healthier option.
SONY DSC

Don’t you love his, Lettuce Turnip The Beet T? Yet another fantastic Etsy find.
SONY DSC

SONY DSC

????????

????????

????????

SONY DSC

Chris was super excited by the new toys. Henry was excited about a piece of tissue paper 😉
SONY DSC

Checking out his new books. This boy loves his books 🙂
????????

New bathtub toys.
????????

Well this post turned out to be all about the peanut which hadn’t really been my intention when I started this post but there you go. . . more recipes and workouts coming soon I promise.
Happy Saturday everyone!

What are you doing this weekend?
Any tips from working moms on managing everything?
If you have kids what did you do for your kid’s first birthday?

