Hope everyone had a great Monday!

We had another beautiful sunny day. I couldn’t wait until H’s first nap to get out on the deck to savor a coffee and eat my delicious breakfast. I’ve been all about the spinach omelets lately. Really it’s all about the sriracha 😉

SONY DSC

After having been away for three weeks I was a little desperate to get back to my own kitchen and do my own cooking. I love visiting our families and they are fantastic cooks but I really enjoy the ritual of prepping meals for the week and cooking in my own kitchen. Even though I spend a little a lot less time perusing cookbooks, magazines and blogs for inspiration since Henry was born I still love the process!

Today I was having a craving for tacos. Who am I kidding I crave tacos pretty much everyday. 😉 Instead of the traditional tacos I went with modified version of a Taco Salad using bulgur, sweet potato and instead of the usual iceberg lettuce found in most taco salads massaged kale. I usually add pickled jalapenos to my tacos but since little H is eating what we eat these days I left them out during cooking and added them as topping later on. I also topped it with avocado, a dollop of Greek yogurt and salsa.

Delicious, healthy and went right in line with my recent goal of cleaning out our pantry 🙂

SONY DSC


Turkey Taco Salad with Bulgur, Sweet Potato, Black Beans and Kale

1/2 cup of uncooked bulgur
1 cup of chicken broth
1 15 ounce can of black beans
1 small sweet potato cooked and diced
1 pound ground turkey
1 handful of kale leaves massaged with a dash of sea salt
1 tlsp coconut oil
1/2 Tbsp chili powder
1/2 Tbsp ground cumin
1/2 Tbsp Montreal steak spice
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp worchestershire sauce
A dash of lime juice

In a pot bring chicken broth to a boil. Add bulgur and cook on medium heat for approximately 15-20 minutes.

Heat coconut oil to a pan over medium heat. Add the ground turkey and cook until browned. Add all of the spices, Worcestershire sauce, lime juice, sweet potato and black beans. Continue cooking until turkey is fully cooked.

Serve over massaged kale leaves with whatever toppings you would normally find on a taco salad – avocado, jalapenos, Greek yogurt or sour cream, salsa, cheese etc.

Only a two more sleeps and Chris is home from work!! All weekend I was thinking about what I would make for his first supper home and I think I’ve decided to make a cauliflower crust pizza for his welcome home supper. I’ve never made one before but it sounds delicious. I can’t wait to try it 🙂
I’ve been up entirely too late the past few nights reading Game of Thrones, blogs etc. I’m going to try to make tonight a reasonably early night.
Goodnight Everyone!

Have you ever made a cauliflower crust pizza? Any tips?
When you’re away from home do you miss cooking and the ritual of selecting your meals for the week?

