Spring has finally made it’s appearance up north! The vast majority of our snow is gone and we’ve had a few warm and sunny days. I tried to sit on the deck today with an iced green tea. . . maybe a little cold for that just yet. I ended up needing a sweater and a big blanket to make it comfortable. Guess I’m a little eager for warm weather after having such a cold winter.

BKP-OE6CAAAyw4b

I’ve been pretty busy hence the lack of posts. I promise a longer post later but I thought in the mean time I should share a new recipe that I recently tried.

I love lentil salads. They’re not the prettiest things to eat but they are tasty and perfect for make ahead lunches because they keep well for a few days in the fridge. My usual go to lentil salad is Giada’s Italian Lentil Salad that includes grapes, red peppers, green lentils, lemon zest/lemon juice and hazelnuts.

I came across this new recipe on Pinterest and thought I would give it a try. It originally calls for pardina lentils but I used plain old green lentils because that is what I had on hand. I’m sure it changed the flavor a bit but it was still delicious. I loved the addition of the crisp green apples!

It made for a perfect side or a quick lunch on the go. This busy mom appreciates quick and easy!
SONY DSC

