I have officially had enough of this cold weather! I had hoped to go to the Long John Jamboree this weekend but sadly the cold temperatures made me rethink dragging Henry out on the lake. Thankfully we had lots of other fun activities planned including a visit with a friend who has just had a beautiful baby girl :).

When the cold weather sets in I crave warm and comforting meals especially with breakfast. One of my all time favourite breakfasts is steel cut oats. I know it sounds boring but I can’t get enough of them. I tend to be an everything but the kitchen sink kind if girl when it comes to my oats. I usually add a banana, a little peanut butter, unsweetened coconut flakes, raisons and ALOT of unsweetened almond milk (Hubs says that I drowned my oats).

I used to cook my steel cut oats on the stovetop Sunday nights to streamline my weekday mornings. A few months ago I came across a recipe for apple cinnamon steel cut oats cooked overnight in the slow cooker. Since they I’ve been make this recipe at least once a week. I like to add liquid egg whites to the oats once their cooked for added protein. Sometimes if I also sub half of the steel cut oats for quinoa just to spice things up 😉 There is nothing better than waking up in the morning to the smell of apples and cinnamon.

It’s not the prettiest thing but it is delicious!

SONY DSC

Slow Cooker Apple Cinnamon Steel Cut Oats (adapted from The Yummy Life)
– 2 apples
– 1 1/2 cups almond milk
– 1 1/2 cups water
– 1 cup steel-cut oats
– 1 tbsp maple syrup or honey
– 1/2 tsp cinnamon
– 1 1/2 tbsp butter cut into pieces (optional – I often half this)
– 1/4 cup hemp hearts
– 1/2 cup to 1 cup of liquid egg whites

Spray your slow cooker with cooking spray. Add all of the ingredients to the slow cooker and stir. Cover and cook on low for 7 hours. If you have a larger slow cooker you can double the recipe just cook it for one extra hour.
In the morning stir in liquid egg whites. Serve.

