SONY DSC

I’ve never had much of a sweet tooth. Ordinarily I would be more likely to have a second helping of dinner over dessert; that is until I started breastfeeding. Since the birth of my son I’ve had insatiable cravings for sugar. Cookies, cake, ice cream, chocolate. . .you name it I’m craving it. In the spirit of balance I’ve been trying to satisfy some of my cravings while also trying to avoid eating sugary high calorie treats morning, noon and night. All my body craves is SUGAR!! Some suggest it is due to the extra calories burnt by breastfeeding, others think it may be the exhaustion that comes with being a new mom. Whatever the cause I don’t feel good about all of the sugar I’ve been consuming. Don’t get me wrong it’s not as though I’m plowing through a dozen cookies or devouring a whole pan of brownies but the nagging craving to eat sweets all day long is starting to wear on me.

I’ve increased the amount of protein that I’m eating throughout the day and that is helping a bit. In the meantime I’ve been ensuring that the treats that I am consuming are homemade and healthyish. Last weekend I made a delicious quinoa chocolate cake after reading about it on Living Mint Green. Chris looked at me skeptically as I was assembling the ingredients but he ended up loving it. The recipe is originally from the book Quinoa 365 (here is a link to the recipie) Jo from Living, Mint,Green modified it to have less butter and sugar and I did the same. The result was a amazing! And of course after cutting the butter and sugar I proceeded to ice it with a butter-cream frosting. . . I guess it all balances out in the end, right? Also to avoid Chris and I devouring the entire cake I packed up half to share with friends.

photo

Quinoa Chocolate Cake (adapted from Quinoa 365, the Everyday Superfood By Patricia Green and Carolyn Hemming)

2/3 cup white or golden quinoa
1 1/3 cup water
1/3 cup milk
4 large eggs
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
Mashed up banana
1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled
1 cup sugar
1 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt

Cook the quinoa. Fluff and then let cool.

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly grease two 8-inch round or square cake pans. Li

Combine the milk, eggs and vanilla in a blender or food processor. Add 2 cups cooked quinoa, butter and mashed banana and continue to blend until smooth.

Whisk together the sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. Add the contents of the blender and mix well. Divide the batter evenly between the 2 pans and bake on the center oven rack for 40 to 45 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove the cake from the oven and cool completely in the pan before serving. Frost if desired.

