Today started off rough with a 4am wake-up and lots of screaming. Of course this would happen on the day that Chris leaves for work. . . Most days I feel like we’ve established a pretty good routine and that the sleep training that we started in October has really paid off but then mornings like this happen. Times like this all I can remember are the other times that Henry hasn’t slept. I start to question our methods and start to wonder if we should do something different. But once I’m out of the situation and take an honest look at his sleep patterns I’m able to see that he actually sleeps quite well. Logically I understand that Henry is not a robot and that he’ll have off days just like anyone else. I also understand that things like introducing solids, teething and other developmental advances will impact his sleep. Unfortunately knowing that does not make your heart break any less when he cries, stop you from also crying out of exhaustion/frustration or from feeling like a bad mother. Thankfully hubs was here this morning so we took turns going in with him. I am so grateful to have a husband who wants to be actively involved with our son and not just when it is convenient or fun. You’re the best Chris!

Many delicious meals were cooked during the ten days that Chris was home all of which I had hoped to share with you and many of which I photographed in various stages of preparation. Unfortunately mommy brain prevails and getting photos of the final product often slipped my mind. Lucky for you I did manage to get some photos of the crackers that I made last night. I had some left over buttermilk so I decided to replenish my cracker supply. Every time I go into a speciality food store I cringe at the price of their gourmet crackers. Don’t get me wrong they’re delicious but with a tiny bit of effort you can customize your own flavors for a fraction of the cost. I got this recipe from a friend and since then have made various different varieties depending on what nuts/seeds I had in the house at the time. They’ve all be delicious! I like to eat them with a sharp cheddar, carmalized onions or avocado and hemp seeds. Whatever way you eat them they’ll be a hit 🙂

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Marie’s Rosemary Nut Crackers (adapted from Whitewater Cooks at Home) (I used extra honey this time around because I didn’t have any brown sugar and they turned out great!)
2 cups whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 cups buttermilk
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup honey
1 cup raisins
1/2 cup almonds
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/4 cup millet
3 tbsp hemp seeds
2 tbsp parmesan cheese, grated
2 tbsp rosemary, finely chopped

Preheat oven to 350F
Stir together the flour, baking soad and salt in a large bowl. Add the buttermilk, brown sugar and honey and stir until just combined.
Add the rest of the ingredients and stir until well blended.
Pour the batter into two 8X4 inch greased loaf pans.
Bake for about 35 minutes or until golden and springy to the touch.
Remove from the pans and let cool on a wire rack. They cooler the loaf the easier it is to slice really thin. You can leave it to cool in the fridge overnight if you like.
Slice the loaves as thin as you can and place the slices in a single layer on an ungreased cookie sheet.
Bake them in a 350F oven for 10 minutes, then flip them over and bake for another 10 minutes until crisp and deep golden in colour.
Remove from the pan and let cool completely on an wire rack.
Store in a cookie tin or freeze in sealed containers.

Enjoy!

