The last year has brought so many changes that it is hard to remember what our lives were like before.  What was the catalyst for all of these changes you might ask? A BABY 🙂  In late August Chris and I were blessed with the arrival of a healthy, beautiful baby boy – Henry James.

DSCN0558

The decision to start trying for a family was not one we took lightly. After 15 wonderful years together the idea of changing the dynamic of our relationship was a scary one.  But after much contemplation we decided that we wanted to be parents and that we had wanted to share our love with a child. When we found out that we were pregnant in December 2011 we were elated! Thankfully I had an easy pregnancy and was spared most of the nasty pregnancy related symptoms that many pregnant women suffer. For a person who never envisioned themselves getting pregnant or having children I was very pleasantly surprised to find that I loved being pregnant. The whole process was very empowering. And as cliché as it sounds it made me realize how precious life is and that we should never take for granted the many blessings large and small in our lives.

Being a mom is both the easiest and the hardest thing I have ever done. The love I felt for baby Henry started the moment I found out I was pregnant and seem to intensify each day. It feels like the most natural thing in the world.

But being a mom is not without its struggles and I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that some days are incredibly difficult especially since Chris is away at work half the time. But then Henry will smile or laugh and suddenly none of that matters. I feel so incredibly fortunate to be able to spend the first year at home with him.

SONY DSC

