Gin and a late night out with G, one of my closest girlfriends, made it extremely difficult to get up this morning for my 8am 20km run but somehow I managed to get myself up and out the door. It definitely helped to have one of my running partners at my door this morning 🙂

I contemplated having a nap when I got home but those of you who know me know how much I hate to “waste my day” so I pushed on.   Roasted chickpea salad with balsamic vinegar was lunch. I love roasting chickpeas in a little bit of EVOO, salt and pepper. It gives them a delicious nutty flavor. I could easily eat them by the handful!

And of course a delicious coconut milk latte.  I recently have given up cow’s milk in favor of almond and coconut milk. It has been a couple of months and I do not miss it
at all!

I had initially planned to spend my Saturday in the office but +30 makes it really difficult to find the motivation to work.  In the end I compromised, walked to the office (45 minute walk each way) and spent only two hours in the office.

Then it was home to cook dinner. G recently started a blog, GorginGeorge as a way to share recipes with friends. Check it out if you’re looking for a little inspiration. When I came across the recipe for Pork Tacos with Slaw & Spicy Pepitas I was thrilled – I LOVE TACOS!!  The Spicy Pepitas (pumpkin seeds) and the slaw are a delicious twist on your traditional tacos.  I used broccoli coleslaw since I’m always looking for ways to sneak in more veggies.

Delicious! Thanks G!

